LOSING THAT BABY WEIGHT

Ok so I have to start by saying how grateful I am for the amazing encouragers that I have in my life.

BIG SHOUT OUT TO MY READERS! True Tales of Mommyhood has had just over 600 views in the last week! πŸ™‚

Last Thursday I wrote a blog about my decision to get serious about loosing this baby weight. I was BLOWN AWAY by all of the text messages, emails, FB-comments, likes and even some “shares” of my blog. I can’t tell you how incredibly motivating that was! I was seriously in tears last Thursday night. To have people telling you 1. you are not alone 2. they believe in you and 3. that they will be reading to see how it goes, is a HUGE motivator. This last week has been one of the easiest when it comes to eating healthy and exercising. This isn’t because either of these things got easier but because when I want to sit my butt on the couch or eat some ice cream I think…

“But Im going to blog next week…and people will actual read it…and they will know…they will know I didn’t do what I said I was going to do…and then they will think I’m a liar…and a failure…and most importantly…I’ll stay fat.” Β (yes, I think in major run-on sentences ALL the time πŸ˜‰ )

So THANK YOU! If you are reading this you have motivated me this last week & because of that motivation…

I have lost ANOTHER 4 lbs!!! A total of 8 pounds lost in the last two weeks!

That’s definitely a start and better than if I would have sat at home or eaten ice cream every time I wanted it (I REALLYYYYYY LOVE Β ICE CREAM πŸ™‚ )

Ok so on to some details about the last week…where to begin.

  • What I’m Eating:Β 

Important info— My diet has changed up a little bit. Thank you to my little guy with the sensitive tummy.

So Truett has always been a “spitter” (thats the name the Doc gave him when I explained this kid spits up all the time!). But recently its become more like vomit and he was seeming to be in a lot of pain. So I tried the one thing I have yet to try. The thing I have honestly been trying to avoid. I cut all diary out of my diet (I’m breastfeeding). So for almost a whole week I have been diary free…it sucks. But it is totally worth it if it helps the little man. I will say it has helped me with healthy eating because when I am craving mac ‘n cheese, a big bowl of cereal, or ICE CREAM, I truly can’t have it.

So back to “What I’m Eating”

Breakfast ~ It depends on the morning. I try to eat either eggs, or plain oatmeal with some cut up fruit mixed in but sometimes its just a granola bar (I finally found some without diary!!) and then eggs or oatmeal as a late morning snack.

Lunch ~ Usually a big ol’ salad with spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots…the whole 9 yards!

Dinner ~ Obviously this changes the most but this last week I’ve had grilled or baked chicken several times, stuffed peppers, turkey and veggies, and turkey burgers (on Ezekiel bread instead of a bun πŸ™‚ ).

Snacks include celery sticks & peanut butter (I have to totally limit my PB intake…I would eat it with EVERY MEAL), granola bars, smoothies or juicing with veggies and fruit.

I am trying to eat in a way that I could truly see myself keeping up with forever. In the past, when I have tried to lose weight, I have aloud myself cheat meals or given myself a date that I’m going to eat healthy until and THEN I can pig out. Now, I am not giving myself the same guidelines because it only makes me want the junk more. I am learning portion control and self control. But if I’m hanging out with friends/family and there is snack food galore…I might have A cookie or A FEW chips but not 10 cookies and 3 plates full of chips. Surprisingly, I usually am not that interested because I know that I could have it whenever I want and I want to loose weight more. The whole no diary thing really helps me stay away too!

Do not mistake this for me not taking this seriously. I am working hard, cutting out junk and paying attention to how much and what I’m eating.Β One thing that has REALLY helped me do this is the “Myfitnesspal” app. It not only keeps track of calories but carbs, sugars, sodium etc. Oh and I love the bar code scanner! All I have to do is scan the bar code on whatever I’m eating and all the nutrition facts pop up! It also lets you log your workouts and weight.

  • Exercising:

I have worked out 4 times in the last week! I hope to increase that number this next week but I’m proud of the work outs I have done…because most days I DID NOT WANT TO DO ANY OF IT!

I have done some running…all intervals of run/walk. BUT last Wednesday I ran and the work out was a 30 sec. run/90 sec walk repeat 6 times…I was dying. The next time I did intervals I was doing 60 second runs and the last time I got up to 90 second runs. At the end of one workout I ran almost 3 minutes without stopping!! Big thanks to my friend Monica for pushing me πŸ™‚ I have also had some long (1hr+) fast past walks. Its not where I used to be and it’s not always “fun” BUT its building a base, it’s improving and it’s something.

Total milage for this week:

12.06 miles

Things that were challenging this week:

  1. The whole no diary thing has been tricky. I did have a moment of weakness when I finally found some “cookies” than had flaxseed & omega 3 but were DIARY FREE. I was so excited I ate half the sleeve in one day. Yes…not good!
  2. Barry has had some long workdays which means I’m flying solo and often I don’t make enough time to eat throughout the day…which leads to a couple big meals where I eat way more than I need to because I’m starving.
  3. I really really hate walking and totally avoided exercising one day this week because it was a “walk day.”

Goals for this week:

  1. Lower my carb intakeΒ 
  2. Eat a good breakfast every morning
  3. Exercising at least 5 days

So that’s my week 2! The truth. It hasn’t been perfect but I’m proud to celebrate the “little victories.” I can’t help but think…if I had not posted this blog last Thursday and finally decided to get serious about loosing this weight…I would be at least 4 pounds heavier with no victories to celebrate. I’m so grateful for this last week and all it has taught me. I am able to do this. I just have to…do it!!

Make this week count! A little change is better than no change…

It’s True.Β 

One step closer to this…

40031_423899613325_3014953_n…or maybe even better πŸ˜‰

My second TRI in 2010 – photo credit: Angie Bledsoe. THANKS MOM πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “LOSING THAT BABY WEIGHT

  1. wedandwanderlust says:

    Go on with your bad self mama! πŸ˜‰ The no dairy can be tough! (Our countless froyo trips together can attest to that! πŸ˜‰ But there are some great alternatives! One “ice cream” that I love, Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss, is dairy free, gluten free, organic and vegan and holy moly does it taste sinful! (I think you know I have high standards for ice cream!) I’ve also found that oat milk and almond are great substitutes for milk! And goat cheese is much easier for the body to digest, so when you are feeling for some cheese on your salad or sandwich try some! So proud of your hard work! Keep it up and you’ll be better than your old self in no time! πŸ™‚

  2. Laura says:

    I am down 1.4 lol I’m not being as strict as I could, but am making better choices- more fruits and veggies. I am not exercising. That is seriously my greatest Challenge- between work, kids, home, and other responsibilities I just have not found a way to get it in like I’d like to. One step at a time! πŸ™‚ thanks for the motivation.

    • Kayleigh Oser says:

      1.4 pounds is awesome!!!! Yay for more fruits and veggies! I totally how busy life can be. I try to set a reachable goal each week. Maybe this next week just try go for a walk two days. I love working out on Saturday mornings because its usually not too busy (in the morning that is).

  3. Colleen says:

    You’re awesome!! Natalie and I have been struggling with keeping on a plan. We want to get to where you are, eating healthy and exercising without being on a “diet”. Thanks for being honest and so tranparent.

    • Kayleigh Oser says:

      I totally get where you are coming from! It can be really hard to stick to a plan. I just try and set a few goals for each week that are “doable.” Then I can feel like I accomplished something instead of feeling defeated. It all starts with what you eat so that’s where I started with goals then added on the exercising. Celebrate the little victories and don’t get discouraged!! Some progress is better than no progress! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

