Before and After (x3)

Ok so I know I should have posted this yesterday but better late than never right?? πŸ˜‰
I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to blog since last week AND that this is a day late. I went back to work this week…very part time but it still has me waking up at 4:45am to get ready each morning! BIG change from the yoga pants everyday πŸ™‚

But I promise as soon as I adjust to this new schedule I’ll blog more often! I’m thinking about adding a page of healthier recipes I’m trying/like, because several people have asked for them.

Back to the weight loss battle
I say battle because this week was definitely a fight.

A fight to make working out a priority.

A fight to take the time to eat healthy instead of quick & easy.

A fight to not indulge in every tasty treat that popped into my head. You see, when I get stressed out I eat. Thats just what I’ve always done (other than the year of pre-wedding weight loss aka 2010). So this week with all of the many adjustments and stress I could tell old habits were trying to pop back up.

So I promise to be real and truthful when writing, and that is EXACTLY what this post is.

Important background info on me:

For those of you that don’t already know this.

I have struggled with my weight my entire life.

I was the fat kid in middle school.

photo-12photo-16(yup I knew my husband way back then πŸ™‚ )

The skinny(er) girl in high school (some of this was natural “slimming out” & some of it was an unhealthy obsession/self-image issues).

photo-15IMG_3325

Then came the college…(+25lbs).

photo-1416937_1187525404211_1467480_n

Then I got engaged…and healthy…and in the best shape of my life.

IMG_008330723_1283070232772_2426127_n31343_1298291733300_236971_n

Then came the “married, in school, working, don’t care…(+15lbs).”

IMG_1399IMG_1469

Then “the preggo 60lbs” πŸ™‚

IMG_2087

& the post preggo…with 40+ lbs to loose!

IMG_2273

Throughout my life I have had this ongoing battle to loose weight. Although it has been somewhat of a roller coaster, I do know what it feels like to be successful in loosing weight…in both a not so healthy way and a very healthy way. But that knowledge isn’t enough…I’m not only trying to loose weight but also break bad habits.

***THE MOST IMPORTANT THING THAT HAPPENED THIS WEEK***

I ate out a couple times over the weekend and did not workout. I was honestly frustrated with current the pace of Β “getting healthy” and was having a bit of a pity party. As a result…

I gained 2 lbs!!Β 

I had this moment of…

“screw it! I’m done. I don’t care. If I can’t miss a few days of working out and eat at a restaurant (while still making healthy choices!!!) then I quite. 2 lbs is 1/4…25% of what I have worked so hard to loose. I’m never going to be able to do this. PLUS, I’m going to have more babies and I’ll just have to do this crap allllll over again. THIS ISΒ POINTLESS!”

Then I remembered how I felt:

  • That day I really looked in the mirror.
  • That day that I lost the first pound…and the day I had lost 4 pounds.
  • The evening spent reading message after message from friends and family that were encouraging me, asking for accountability or inspired by my first post.

This is the important part–> I decided that I am not quitting. I am not going to give up that easily!

This is a life long commitment to be a healthier me…and it is going to be hard. There will be moments where I want to throw in the towel. But (for me) I have decided that quitting isn’t an option when it comes to my health.

So this week I’m focusing on the fact that I lost the two pounds that I gained last weekend and I’m back to where I started last Thursday. But in the back if my mind I can’t help but think…
I could have lost 10 lbs and be in the double digits right now.

But thinking that does nothing. It doesn’t get me to losing 10 lbs & it doesn’t change what is.

So I’ve lost 10 Β πŸ˜‰ but I’m down 8 lbs. I’m choosing to “celebrate the little victories.” πŸ™‚

Exercising this week:

I don’t know why I can’t seem to work out more than 4 days a week…I don’t know what it is about that 5th day that is so hard to get in! I think it’s because three nights a week Barry is either at class or C3 Students. I make excuses during the little bit of time we have together and then don’t want to do it Β by myself…
I did actually go to the gym (our “clubhouse” gym) and do an arm workout & a little leg workout too!

I HATE doing weights.

Seriously I would rather do cardio twice a day…obviously with the given stats I wouldn’tΒ really do cardio twice a day but you get the picture.

So I did 3 days of cardio and one day of weights/a little elliptical.
I also was able to do a few 2 & 3 minute running intervals!! If you read my blog last week you know that I tried to see how long I could run one day and could not even get to three minutes. Again, this is me celebrating the little victories...while I was running the said three minutes (for the second time) & feeling like I was going to die I kept thinking:

This is ridiculous! I worked so hard and I’ve lost it all. 3 minutes is nothing.
But in the past this thinking would have caused me to quit. Come home, cry and not run for months.
So I had a decision. I chose to tell myself to shut up & “celebrated” the little victory. I’m so glad I did because it felt awesome to accomplish something!

I’m not quitting!

My mileage is low this week because of the day of doing weights.
Total miles for this week:
7.20

I track my mileage using my Garmin! I’ve had it for two years but it still works great. Definitely worth the investment! It tells you your distance, heart rate (you wear a heart rate band), current pace, average pace, and calories burned. It’s everything right in one spot!

Not much change on the eating front other than trying to lower my carb intake. I also did much better about eating breakfast most mornings. So thats 2 out of 3 goals from last week that I accomplished!

I actually got stuff to make lettuce wraps at home and I’m planning on doing that for myself on our next “taco night.” I’ll be sure to add that in with other foods/recipes I’m going to post.

Goals for this week:

1.WORK OUT 5 DAYS…I’m doing it…for real πŸ™‚

2. Eat more green stuff (as in healthy green stuff)

3. Do a strength/weight workout twice

I wish I could put into words how much you motivate me. Seriously! If you are reading this, you are a huge motivator for me. On Sunday night when I want pizza. On Tuesday when I DO NOT want to workout. I think of (the few πŸ™‚ ) people who follow this blog and what I would say on my Thursday weight loss update if I didn’t stick to it.

I’m not perfect. I’m fighting a battle everyday. I will always be honest.

But most importantly I’m not quitting.

There will be a post…in what feels like the far off future….

of a BEFORE & AFTER- the fourth and last time πŸ™‚

 

“You can throw in the towel, OR you can use it to wipe the sweat off your face.”

 

It’s True.

13 thoughts on “Before and After (x3)

  1. wedandwanderlust says:

    Celebrating the little victories are the only way that you will truly accomplish your ultimate goal! You’re on the right track and I have full confidence that you will succeed! Honesty with self and accountability with others is worth more, and healthier than any fad diet! You’re on the right track and so proud of your accomplishments!!! Woot-Woot!! Celebrate with a Bahamarita inspired smoothie!! πŸ˜‰

  2. Jackie Wantuch says:

    you’re doing great Kaleigh! but give yourself some credit πŸ™‚ even 3 days a week of working out is a good start! Especially since you are getting back into a workout routine….then work your way up to 5 days. If it helps to alternate, do it! Give your body some time to rest. You have a little baby and just started going back to work. You’re doing a lot better than most moms at this stage. And you WILL reach your goal. You looked great when you did it the healthy weight, and you will get their again. Your motivation and dedication will bring you there. Don’t be too hard on yourself πŸ˜‰ you are still beautiful and have a beautiful family that loves YOU. proud of what you’re accomplishing.

  3. Monica Hunt says:

    I think you’re doing awesome!!! Celebrating little victories is key for me- especially on days I really don’t want to workout but do anyway- I celebrate that! πŸ™‚
    I think you’re rocking it and encouraging others along the way- that’s great!
    Love you & enjoy our workouts together!

    • Kayleigh Oser says:

      Thanks Monica! I love working out together!! I’m hoping soon it can be more than just one day a week but its definitely motivating. I’m so glad I have friends that encourage & support me πŸ™‚

  4. Ariel says:

    Way to go Kayleigh! Btw you’ve probably heard this, but by increasing your muscle mass- you rev up your resting metabolism and really increase your chances of calorie & fat burning. (Hopefully that will be enough motivation to do some weights. πŸ˜‰ I am training right now to be a barre 54 instructor. Barre classes are a GREAT way to build muscle without the monotony of lifting weights on your own. The studios are not too close to you, and classes can get pricey, but there is a groupon out right now which is a great deal: http://www.groupon.com/deals/barre54-3?pt=aUSiOHDAAAADBBi-fpCHEz_C-Gw3Z4H8X
    You are on the right track- especially with increasing your greens! I know you starting juicing- that is great- consider green smoothies as well! πŸ˜‰

    • Kayleigh Oser says:

      Thanks so much for the info Ariel!!! I do know how important to build muscle is…just hate doing it. But sometimes you just gotta “suck it up buttercup” πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely check out that groupon!

  5. Colleen says:

    Kayleigh,
    You’ve really encouraged Natalie and I to get back on track. We were doing so well and then….well you know, it’s easier to “drive thru”, I’ve been sick so haven’t really gone shopping….all excuses. I’ve fought my weight my entire life also, I tried so hard to keep Natalie from being over weight. I know she’s done being the “fat girl”. It’s lonely, you hate Valentines Day, dances or anything that has to do with being a couple because you’re not part of one.
    My goal for 2013 is to help Natalie by seting a good example and doing what I need to for her to eat well.
    Thank you again for writing this blog and not being afraid to use the F word. (Fat)

    • Kayleigh Oser says:

      You are a great mom Colleen! It is hard but the most important thing is that you don’t get discouraged by the days when you slip up but instead you focus on the positives!! “Celebrate the little victories!” πŸ™‚
      You are both beautiful women but I know how it feels to be told that but not feel it.
      I’m here for you and couldn’t be more proud!!! You got this πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

