I Quit

Ok so those of you that have been following this blog know that in the beginning of February I starting getting serious about getting healthy and back in shape after gaining 60+ pounds in my pregnancy with my first son (born in November).

I have added a page on my blog called “Weight Loss” with links to previous posts for those of you that need to catch up. But the most important post would be: “Yeah…I’m Done Being Fat.

 

Obviously it has been sometime since I have posted about my weight loss journey (about 6 weeks).

Many of you have been so kind and encouraging to me. Making it a point to ask me about my journey and when in the world I am going to blog again about that part of my life. 🙂 It really does mean so much to me that there is a group of people…as small as it may be….that care & also take the time to read my little ol’ blog.

So I have made a decision…

I quit.

Yup….I really quit.

 

I quit making excuses.

I quit putting other things before things that are so important to me.

I quit doubting myself.

I quit worrying about all the weight that I have left to lose.

*Yes…this is a good  “I quit” 🙂

I think I came to a point where I started to question why I was doing the work outs or eating healthy. In the back of my mind I couldn’t help but think:

“Am I really doing this for ME…or am I doing this for the people reading my blog?”

As silly as that may sound…

It was so important to me that I do this for myself because, in my short 23 years of life, I have seen first hand what can happen when you base the things you do/don’t do on other people. That being said I also have a tendency to try and “perform.” Part of that is just my personality and part of it is growing up in the fish bowl of being a pastor’s kid.

So for all of these reasons I started thinking about taking a step back from the whole “weight loss update” scene. Once I did that I realized that I was definitely doing this for ME & no one else. Sometimes it is our accomplishments that occur in private that mean the most & I think I had to prove somethings to myself before I continued on with this public sharing of my journey in weight loss.

Since my last post I have:

Lost 7.5 more pounds for a a total 18.5 lbs

Run 2.5 miles without stopping (ok for real…if you would have asked me on week 2 if I thought I could this anytime in 2013 I would have laughed in your face…I know its nothing HUGE but its still an accomplishment)

But most of all I have gained some much needed confidence!!!

I promise to go back to my little updates (for those of you that missed them) and keep you guys in the loop more. Thank you for being patient while I take some “me” time. 🙂

Exercising:

PLEASE be thinking/praying of me this Saturday as I run my first-post baby-5k! I REALLLLLLYYYYYY would like to run the entire thing without stopping for a walk break but in all of the previous 5k races I have done I have never been able to do it. It is totally a mental thing. In the one 10k I did, I ran over 3.1 before stopping, but never could do it in an actual 5k. I start to psych myself out and get so easily defeated. SO this Saturday will be different. Im not worried about fast I am running…but I will run…until its done! 🙂

I have been training for over 8 weeks now and I am ready for my hard work to help me accomplish this goal!

Nutrition:

The last two weeks have been rough. We did some traveling (short distance but hotel staying none the less) for my husbands job and then had family in town this week and then birthday celebrations for your’s truly 😉

Note to self: Vegan Carrot is wonderful…& well deserve on the birthday of a girl who, LOVES carrot cake and can’t have dairy…..

IN MODERATION!!! 

The crazy part is that I literally feel crappy. I can totally tell not eating well is taking its toll and I am actually looking forward to grocery shopping this evening and getting back into the swing of things.

Overall I am so very glad that I made the decision to get serious when I did and that I have (for the most part) stuck with it. I hope to only get more committed and see even better results! There are definitely days where I think…I have a 5 MONTH OLD…why is this taking so long! But I don’t let myself go down that road. Instead I focus on the positives….and when all else fails….

look at some stinkin’ pictures…

2012-11-27 15.52.52

Last pregnant picture outside the hospital.

321261_10151319071143326_399746705_n

1 month post baby.

 

IMG_4763

I can finally tell my face is starting to thin out a little.

IMG_0086

4.5 months post baby

IMG_0282

TAYLOR SWIFT CONCERT!!! 🙂

 

And if that doesn’t work I just look at this little man and remind myself it was all sooooo worth it!!

20130425-162255.jpg

 

IMG_2822

 

20130425-162143.jpg

It’s alway’s more exciting to get dressed for the day when you feel good.

***Another big accomplishment***

My wedding ring finally fits!!!!!!!!!! I don’t love how tight it is and with the heat my hands tend to swell but it actually fits!

I refuse to “avoid” the camera because (although I don’t love how I look now) I don’t want to miss out on making memories. Plus, it really is great way to track progress.

All of this to say

“I’m backkkkkkk” & couldn’t be happier!

It’s True.

3 thoughts on “I Quit

  1. Lori says:

    I am crying reading this!!! I SO get it all!! I just love you girl! You are drop dead gorgeous in and out!! Live every second of your life to the fullest!! Don’t ever let your weight struggles keep you from living! You are gonna get to where you want to be. This post is the beginning of some amazing things for you!!

    Xoxo
    Lori 🙂

    • Kayleigh Oser says:

      Thanks so much for reading & commenting Lori!!! Your words mean so much to me because I know you really understand! You are such a motivator & inspiration! Thank you for being so open & sharing your story!!! 🙂

      *not gonna lie the fact that you read my post is so incredible & I definitely feel a little starstruck right now!!! Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

