Time Out

Have you ever found yourself going through life, and as exciting things happen your first thought is:
“Oh man, I have to get a picture of this to post on Instagram!”
Or “Did that really happen?!? That’s Facebook status material!”
Or “This is so funny I just have to tweet it!”
Not everyone can relate but I know some can…
Living a life share to on social media. Not being able to really experience moments without sharing it with the world.
This deserve to share does not come from a bad place, it usually comes from wanting people you love to experience (in some small way) this exciting moment or fun thing, with you. We all have friends and family that we don’t get to see often and I LOVE getting to “keep up” with their life through social media.
But…
I realized something this past week. Two things were happening in my life because of this love for social media:
1. I often missed little moments or only got to experience something partially because my I was searching for my phone to take a picture or thinking of how I would share this excitement.
2. I allowed the “keeping up” with others through social media to give me a false since of connection which enabled me to not actually call them and really catch up.

Not to mention the time wasted scrolling, looking at everyone else’s posts.

So on Thursday I decided to take a break or a “Time Out.” I deleted all the apps on my phone and made a commitment to stay off social media through the weekend. 3 full days of no Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, and Candy Crush (I included this so that when I couldn’t sleep at night I would read my bible app instead of trying to finally beat level 70)…

and I am here to say I SURVIVED! 🙂

As you can imagine there were many “oh I should post…” moments. Especially during the first 24 hours!

Some of those moments being:

  • Truett standing by himself for the first time (for 2.5 seconds…but still a “first”).
  • On Friday night I felt our 2nd “baby Oser” move for the first time!
  • I also came across so many old memories/pictures while packing and of course it had to be “Flashback Friday.” But I used self control and held to my commitment. 🙂

I’m sorry if I missed your adorable post of your kids or pets,”work out of the day”, “what I’m doing now,” all the adventures you went on and the yummy food you ate. While it was hard…I really enjoyed it and definitely recommend “unplugging” for a few days!

It’s amazing how just simply enjoying those special times, hiding them in your heart and soaking up every second will change your prospective! I will still use social media and post pictures…daily probably…of the cutest kid in the world (MINE 🙂 ).
BUT I will also be making a conscious effort to live in the moment, and enjoy quality, uninterrupted time with my family. I’ve learned it’s ok to have some special moments that I don’t share with the world.

When it comes to my friendships, I don’t want to only keep up with their lives through social media. Because we all know that while our exciting, funny or special moments are usually up for everyone to see…
The hard days.
The struggles.
The real life, day-to-day stuff that sometimes requires the encouragement of a friend…that’s not usually posted.

So call people, spend quality time with them…don’t just assume that you know what’s going on in their life because of what you see on social media.

Live in the moment and don’t just be a friend that catches up by “scrolling!”

20130923-081042.jpg

It’s True.

Leave a Reply

