244

I know it has been over a month since my last post and I haven’t been updating the way I planned when it comes to weight loss. I definitely have my hands full with these two little guys.

(My next post is going to be all about my boys with a crazy amount of pictures and maybe even a few adorable videos…so make sure you follow or subscribe so you don’t miss it!)

I have started to write a few times but I honestly just needed some time. Some time to prove that I am getting healthy for me…not for anyone else. What you do when no one knows, when no one is watching, that is what will make or break you. I think I needed to eat healthy/exercise etc. and prove to myself that I could and would do this no matter what.

But I was reminded of something so encouraging, I just had to share.

Here is a quick update:

I’m down 8 lbs from March 17th. I have lost more than that but I gained some weight back over my birthday celebration(S). (what can I say I am a VERY loved girl 🙂 )

I have been eating healthy most days. My diet mainly consist of veggies, meat, and some fruit <-THIS IS MY WEAKNESS…I would just eat fruit for every meal…but all that sugar! Yeah, not a good idea.

I cut out dairy originally because I’ve noticed that really helps me lose weight. I promise it is much easier than you think and all it takes is some pizza (last Friday night) or froyo (saturday…I’m telling you birthday celebrations killed me). But for real just one “diary-filled” meal after not eating it for awhile and let’s just say you go right back to HAPPILY not eating it.

I started a “couch to 5k” app and completed my first “post-baby #2” 5k last Saturday. It was the Run for the Trees and it was my 4th year in a row doing it.

It was hard, ridiculously hard and pretty discouraging, honestly. Everyone wants to improve with time and become better…well this race is one of those reminders that I have a longgggg way to go to get back to where I was last year (or the years before for that matter).

BUT I finished it! That’s better than what I wanted to do…which varied between crawling in a hole to die, punching someone in the throat, and/or consulting a doctor about some serious liposuction. Not kidding.

During the week leading up to the 5k I was trying to come up with a new plan for after the race. I need structure. I thrive off of a routine and a plan! There are 231805430953580059034529 different programs out there and people that swear “this is the best thing ever.”

Here’s the deal… I know what to eat. I know how to workout. I just need some kind of general plan as to how I’m going to do those things and I would LOVE to not spend $$$ at this point. I have so much to lose and I know I will hit a sticking point after I lose some of the weight. At that point I will look into something that might cost but right now I just need something free and simple.

Here’s what I decided on. It’s 100% free and gives you everything from specific workouts to do, to a general meal plan, to recipe ideas/food list. Bodybuilding.com has tons of these programs! There is also an app you can download that lets you pull up the workouts & track everything.

It is a 12 week program, and at first I thought “TWELVE weeks. Yeah. No.” But I’m in this for the long haul…as in as long as it takes to get back in shape and be healthy-haul. So why not? I will be going a short trip to Haiti this summer and probably 1 other vacation so I know there will be some weeks that are better than others. But it’s a goal…something to strive for…exactly what I needed.

I think the scariest thing about a 12 week commitment is the opportunity to fail.

THIS was the reminder I had to share…

Screen Shot 2014-04-30 at 9.46.34 PM

I will fail at times. We all do. I will have “bad days”…maybe even “bad weeks.”

Moments where I lose sight of what matters mosts.

Moments where I allow the lies to fill my head and control my actions.

Moments where I sit down and have the “it’s not fair that it is this hard for me while 13901832108 other women can eat McDonalds every day and look like a freakin VS model.” <-seriously. It’s annoying.

But I will always get back up. Tomorrow can always be better than today. Because after those moments of “failure,” that’s where you learn. That’s where you grow.

I’ve said it before but I just love the first day of the month. There is something so refreshing about a new month!

May 1st leaves 244 days left in this year.

TWO HUNDRED AND FORTY-FOUR!

That’s a whole lot of days! This year can still be a life changing year.

How will you be better in May? What are somethings you want to change from April?

 

There is no better day than the first day of the month to get started!

 

It’s True.

Ever True. 

Leave a Reply

